Architecture of the walled city of Carcassonne

One hingering in the lists of the city (space between 2 walls of fortification), one can easily realize that the city had "suffered" from sudden consecutive final improvements in its construction. This is explained by the fact that in the Middle Age, the priority for all the people was to conqueer new places. Carcassonne, like many other cities, was the gate opened to invasions. Its geographical location made a strategic place of it.

The Gallo-Roman era

End of XIth to XIIIth century

The Visigothic era

XIIIth toXIV th century

VIth to XIth century

History | Pictures | Guided visit | Architecture | The church | Let's attack the city


The Gallo-Roman era:

The Gallo-Roman influence is definitely visible. The first stoned walls of Carcassonne date back from this period. They are easily recognizable and respect the rules common to all the Roman fortifications.

Tour Gallo-romaine

             

 

D'après Viollet Le Duc

 

1st characteristic : the use of the round or square shape towers in the fixed enceinte of the Romans was general, because, as was saying Végèce : " the people considered that the enceinte of a place couldn't be on a same continuous line, because of the rams which would easily beat in breach; but by using towers located in the rampart close enough to one other, their walls had saillant and coming in angles".

 

2nd characteristic: Walls were constituted of two facings of small cubic apparatus, with alternated red brick bases.

 

mur gallo-romain

Top of page


The wisigothic era (5th century):

Visigoths were not considered as manufacturers. They would have rebuilt walls and towers, which had been destroyed after the battles, copying the Gallo-Roman art and style. For this reason, we cannot differenciate the Gallo-Roman constructions from the Visigothic ones. Thereby, the name of the Visigothic towers above explained is often given to Gallo-Roman constructions.

 

Top of page


VIth to XIth century:

The Francs brought in the Germanic tradition in which wood was very much used. One can imagine a wood palisade as a defense of the enceinte, but no trace make it possible to confirm such explanation.

The defensive system of the Roman fortification didn't changes a lot. The siege of the fortified towers lasted several days, attackers often gave up, plundering the surrounding countryside. Defenders resisted until victory. Little by little, the means of attacks started to improve and the first machines of wars appeared. Until the XIIth century, the cities were only defended by enceintes flanked by towers.

Top of page


End of XIth to XIIIth century:

Important construction works were undertaken on several points of which the "Count's Castle". Walking in the inner enclosure, one can easily recognize parts of the masonries dating back to this period. Their caracteristics are as fallow :

- facing of yellowish sandstone
0.15 m to 0.25 m height
0.20 m to 0.30 m width
-constructed rough

Château contal 

In the XIIth century, the visigothic towers were consolidated and raised. Indeed, they were ruined through sap and mine during the different battles, especially when the Moors drove out the visigoths. This consolidations work was undertaken, certainly late, but precipitated by the crusade against the Albigensians wich started in 1209.

 

 

Simon de Montfort seized the city and it became part of the royal domain (Louis VIII).

Top of page


XIIIth to XIVth century:

 

Saint-Louis was attaching a great importance to Carcassonne, which was covering a large place of the domain, situated above all, in front of the Aragon.Saint Louis decided to make an untakable fortress of it, as he was claiming not to fear the possible consequences of a siege which would have put it in the hands of a dynamic ennemy.

Saint Louis started new construction works. The Barbican of the Castle (of which nothing remains today) and the outer wall of the city, except the approaching ramp.

One can recognize, from this period the use of stones with embossing.

Top of page

Architecture de la cité

Lorsqu'on se balade dans les lices (espace entre 2 murailles de fortification), on se rend compte aisément que la cité a subit des retouches consécutives dans sa construction. Cela s'explique simplement par le fait qu'au moyen-âge le besoin de conquérir de nouvelles places est la priorité de tous les peuples : Carcassonne, comme bien d'autres villes, est la porte ouverte aux invasions. Sa situation géographique en fait une place stratégique.

Epoque gallo-romaine

Fin XIème au XIIIème siècle

Epoque wisigothe

XIIIème et XIVème siècle

Du VIème au XIème siècle

Histoire | Photos | Visite guidée | Architecture | Basilique | Quelques chiffres | Attaquez la cité


Epoque Gallo-romaine:

L'influence gallo-romaine est nettement visible. Les premières murailles en pierre de Carcassonne voient le jour à cette époque; elles sont facilement reconnaissable et respectent des règles communes à toutes les fortifications romaines.

Tour Gallo-romaine

             

 

D'après Viollet Le Duc

 

1ère caractéristique: l'emploi des tours rondes ou carrées dans les enceintes fixes des romains était général, car, comme le dit Végèce, "les anciens trouvèrent que l'enceinte d'une place ne devait point être sur une même ligne continue, à cause des béliers qui battraient trop aisément en brèche; mais par le moyen des tours placées dans le rempart assez près les unes des autres, leurs murailles présentaient des parties saillantes et rentrantes. ".

 

2ème caractéristique: les murs sont composés de deux parements de petit appareil cubique, avec assises alternées de briques rouges.

 

mur gallo-romain

haut de page


Epoque wisigothe (Vème siècle):

Les wisigoths n'étaient pas des constructeurs. Ils auraient reconstruit les tours et les murailles, détruit après les batailles, en copiant l'art gallo-romain. C'est pour cette raison que l'on confond encore les constructions gallo-romaines et wisigothes en attribuant à tort ou à raison le nom de tours wisigothes à celles vues plus haut.

  haut de page


Du VIème au XIème siècle:

Les Francs amenent la tradition germanique dans laquelle le bois est très utilisé. On peut imaginer une palissade de bois pour première défense de l'enceinte, mais aucune trace ne permet de confirmer cela.

Le système défensif de la fortification romaine se modifie peu. Les sièges des places fortes duraient plusieurs jours, les assaillants abandonnaient souvent en pillant la campagne avoisinante. La défense l'emportait sur l'attaque. Les moyens d'attaque commencent peu à peu à se perfectionner et les engins de guerre font leur apparition. Jusqu'au XIIème siècle les villes sont défendues uniquement par des enceintes flanquées de tours.

  haut de page


Fin XIème et XIIIème siècle:

D'importants travaux sont entrepris sur plusieurs points, dont le château. En parcourant l'enceinte intérieure de la cité, ainsi que le château, on peut facilement reconnaître les parties des bâtisses qui datent de cette époque ; leurs parements sont élevés en grès jaunâtre et par assise de 0.15m à 0.25m de hauteur, sur 0.20m à 0.30m de largeur, et grossièrement appareillés.

Château contal 

Au XIIème siècle, les tours "wisigothes" furent consolidées et surélevées ; en effet, elles ont été très endommagé par la sape et la mine durant les différentes batailles, notamment lorsque les Maures délogèrent les Wisigoths. Ce qui explique cette consolidation, tardive certes, mais précipité par la croisade contre les Albigeois qui commença en 1209.

 

 

Simon de Montfort s'empare de la cité, elle est désormais possession du domaine royal (Louis VIII).

haut de page


XIIIème-XIVème siècle:

 

Saint-Louis, attachant une grande importance à la place de Carcassonne qui couvrait cette partie du domaine royal devant l'Aragon, et prétendant ne plus avoir à redouter les conséquences d'un siège qui l'aurait mis entre les mains d'un ennemi sans cesse en éveil, veut en faire une forteresse inexpugnable.

Construction d'une deuxième enceinte et de la barbacane (dont il ne reste rien aujourd'hui, sauf sa rampe d'accès). C'est sous Philippe Le Hardi qui sera entreprit la réparation de l'enceinte intérieure, notamment la porte Narbonnaise, la porte Saint-Nazaire et la tour du Trésau.

On peut reconnaître les éléments de cette période par l'emploie des pierres à bossage.

haut de page